About us

                      The geographical jurisdiction of the North Gujarat University is constituted of four districts Mehsana, Patan, Banaskantha and Sabarkantha. Each one of the four district, has its own distinct heritage. Geographically a part of the whole area is towards the desert of Kutchh, the North Eastern side are rocky regions of forest populated by the tribals. The economy of the area is mainly agricultural. There are a ew towns in the region and no big cities. The rest of the population lives in illages. With a view to catering to the peculiar cultural and educational needs of the area, North Gujarat University was established by the Governor's Ordinance No. 5 of 1986 dated 17.5.1986. Subsequently, the North Gujarat University Act No.22 of 1986 was passed by the Legislative Assembly of Gujarat, on 11/9/86.The University has been functioning since then and growing and expanding steadily.

                        The Legislative Assembly of Gujarat State has passing the bill in the year 2003 has renamed The North Gujarat University (NGU) as "HEMCHANDRACHARYA NORTH GUJARAT UNIVERSITY (HNGU)".

                         The University is expected to combine, more precisely, synthesize programmes of Human Resource Development anchored on positive attributes of inherited cultural ethos with needed specialist professional skills and competence to meet with socio-economic needs with emphasis on imbibing habits of learning to learn in the field of higher education.